Jharkhand Parties

Home-Grown Political Heavy-Weights

Political parties sprout locally to meet the aspirations of the people and voice their concerns. Being rooted in the soil, such regional parties understand the voter sentiments better and connect with the electorate in terms of language, food, and culture. These regional political outfits work with a focus of making the state prosperous. Since their own future is inextricably linked to the good work they do in the state, the state-level political entities need to listen to the woes of the voters and deliver more to the masses in terms of development. With a slew of Jharkhand parties jousting for power, new permutations and combinations are explored for a game-changing show at the hustings.  

AJSU (All Jharkhand Students Union)

AJSU is a state political party of Jharkhand state, India. AJSU PARTY was founded on June 22, 1986, modelled after All Assam Students Union. The founders of AJSU were disillusioned with the previous political parties of Jharkhand and wanted more militant agitations. Mostly activated in Santhal Pargana.

BSD (Birsa Seva Dal)

BSD is a political group in India. BSD demanded a separate Chhotanagpur state. It was founded in 1967 by Lalit Kuzur. The general secretary was Moses Guria. In 1967–1969, BSD was engaged in agitation for the expulsion of non-Chhotanagpuris from the area. BSD later left their methods, but was disintegrated in conflicts. They were instrumental in fighting for the rights of the tribals for proper and legitimate compensation of their lands in village lohajimi area, which was to be displaced on account of construction of dam in the area, the project was later abandoned.

HJP (Hul Jharkhand Party)

Hul Jharkhand Party, a political party in India. Founded by Justin Richard on December 28, 1968, after the fragmentation of the Jharkhand Party. The party worked amongst the Santhal populations. It demanded a separate tribal-majority state and social reform. A splinter group, the Bihar Progressive Hul Jharkhand Party was later founded by Sibu Soren.

JBSP (Jai Bharat Samanta Party)

Jai Bharat Samanta Party was a political party in India. Founded in 2009, it was led by Madhu Koda, former Chief Minister of Jharkhand. The party fielded nine candidates in the October 2009 Jharkhand Legislative Assembly election. One was elected, Geeta Koda who was the JBSP candidate in the Jaganathpur constituency.

JDU (Janta Dal United)

JD(U) is a centre-left Indian political party with political presence mainly in Bihar and Jharkhand. The Janata Dal (United) was formed with the merger of the Sharad Yadav faction of the Janata Dal, the Lokshakti Party and the Samta Party on 30 October 2003. Janata Dal (United)’s party mentor and patron is the veteran socialist leader George Fernandes. JD(U) is currently a part of BJP led National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

Jharkhand BJP

BJP is one of the two major political parties in India. As of 2018, it is the country’s largest political party in terms of representation in the national parliament and state assemblies, and it is the world’s largest party in terms of primary membership. BJP is a right-wing party, and its policy has historically reflected Hindu nationalist positions.

Jharkhand Congress

Jharkhand Pradesh Congress Committee (J.P.C.C) is the unit of the Indian National Congress – one of the world’s largest political organizations – working in the state of Jharkhand. Its head office is situated at Shradhanand Marg, Ranchi. Dr. Ajoy Kumar is the current president of JPCC.

JDP (Jharkhand Disom Party)

Jharkhand Disom Party was a political party in India. The party was founded 2002 by BJP Member of Parliament Salkhan Murmu. The party works for the rights of the Adivasi peoples. In August 2014, Salkhan Murmu merged his Jharkhand Disom Party into the BJP in presence of former Jharkhand Chief Minister Arjun Munda.

JKP (Jharkhand Party)

JKP is a political party in India which grew out of the demand for a separate Jharkhand state. The party was founded on March 5, 1949 at a large conference in Ranchi. Jaipal Singh was elected president and Idsen Deba general secretary. In 1963 JKP merged with Indian National Congress. The merger was quite unpopular amongst the party ranks, and a variety of splinter groups, were formed, many of the claiming the name of JKP. The party head is Pyara Mundu.

JMM (Jharkhand Mukti Morcha)

JMM is a state political party in the Indian state of Jharkhand which was founded by Binod Bihari Mahato, Disom Guru Shibu Soren and Comrade Dr. A.K. Roy . It has two seats in the 15th Lok Sabha. Shibu Soren is the president of the JMM. The party was officially created on the birthday of Birsa Munda.

JPP (Jharkhand People’s Party)

Jharkhand People’s Party, is a political party in India. It was launched by the radical AJSU on 30 Dec 1991, at a conference in Ranchi under the leadership of led by Dr. Ram Dayal Munda. AJSU was founded on 22 June 1986. JPP was reconstituted in 1994, with Dr. Ram Dayal Munda as president and Surya Singh Besra as general secretary. Later a split occurred JPP and the faction led by Surya Singh Besra retained the name Jharkhand People’s Party. The faction led by Sudesh Mahto started using the name of parent organization – All Jharkhand Students Union.

JVC (Jharkhand Vananchal Congress)

Jharkhand Vananchal Congress, a political party in Jharkhand, India. The party is led by Samresh Singh. The JVC has been merged into Bahujan Samaj Party.

JVM (Jharkhand Vikas Morcha)

JVM (P) is a state political party in the Indian state of Jharkhand which was founded by former Union Minister and Jharkhand Chief Minister Babulal Marandi. The party’s formation was announced by Marandi at Hazaribagh on 24 September, 2006.

MCC (Marxist Coordination Committee)

MCC is a political party in Jharkhand, India. MCC is based in the coal mining region of Dhanbad. Janwadi Kisan Sangram Samiti was formed after local communist leader A. K. Roy had been expelled from Communist Party of India (Marxist). JKSS later converted into MCC. MCC is still led by A. K. Roy.

RJD (Rashtriya Janata Dal)

RJD is an Indian political party, based in the northern state of Bihar. The party was founded in 1997 by Lalu Prasad Yadav. In 2008, RJD received the status of recognized national level party following its performance in north-eastern states. RJD was recognized as a national party on 30 July 2010.